The Hutsul architecture occupies a special place among the sights of Transcarpathia. And in the architecture of the indigenous inhabitants of the Carpathians great importance is given to Hutsul churches — unique, original and beautiful buildings.
Strukovska or Ascension Church in Yasin is one of such ancient, incredible, amazing churches. It is the main attraction of the former center of Hutsulshchyna.
Strukovska church was built on the slope of Kosterivka mountain in 1824. Since then it has become the main treasure of the inhabitants of the village of Yasinya. And not only the beauty of the building played a significant role in this. The place where the church has stood for almost two centuries is associated with a story of a real miracle.
According to legend Strukovskaya church was built by shepherd Ivan Struk — hence its name. The reason for this was a miraculous rescue of a flock of sheep. In winter, unable to move on because of bad weather, Struk left a flock of sheep on this place, which he led to the fair. When Struk returned here in the spring to collect at least the sheep’s wool, he saw a miracle: the sheep not only survived, but also bore a litter. Then the shepherd decided to found a church and a settlement around it. Because of this legend, the Church of the Ascension in Yasin is often called Strukovskaya — in honor of the legendary founder of the monastery.
As many years ago, today the place where the Church of the Ascension stands seems truly marvelous. The wooden church and the old bell tower to the north of it, surrounded by tall trees, organically combine with the landscape, presenting a fabulous, mesmerizing landscape. This place has a special energy and gives incredible emotions not only to the admirers of antiquity, but also to all those who are thirsty for bright impressions.
The 11-meter bell tower standing next to the church has an even more solid age — it was moved here after the church at the other end of the village burned down. The bell tower is engraved with the inscription «ANNO DOMINI 1813» — it was built in 1813.
Looking at the Strukovskaya church, one cannot help but marvel at the skill and art of the local craftsmen who built it. It is a real masterpiece of wooden Hutsul architecture.
The temple has the shape of a cross and is formed by five log cabins, crowned with one octagonal tent dome — according to the canons of construction of religious buildings of Hutsuls. Because of the three tiers pressing each other to the ground, the church seems squat and therefore even more fabulous and ancient. In order to fully appreciate the architecture of this amazing structure you should see it from all sides. On one of the crossbars there is a picture of three crosses and the date of the construction of the monastery — 1824. Also on the walls you can see inscriptions about local residents who donated funds for the construction of the temple.
Inside the church, which seems small and squat from the outside, is spacious, the rooms are connected by high arched openings, and the church is cozy thanks to carved wooden pews, chairs and other authentic items. The carved iconostasis has been preserved since the foundation of the church. The special values of the Strukovskaya Church are the old icons, among which are the monuments of painting of the XVII century: «The Savior», «Transfiguration» and others.
Making an excursion to such sights of Transcarpathia as the village of Yasinya, Strukovskaya Church is undoubtedly worth visiting. It was recently included in the UNESCO World Heritage List and now has the status of attractions of Ukraine — guests from all over the country and abroad come to Yasinya to see the Ascension (Strukovskaya) Church.