
Ochakov Military History Museum is a branch of the Nikolaev Regional Museum of Local Lore and is dedicated to the history of the development of Ochakov.
The museum was opened in 1972 in the former building of the Turkish mosque (now — St. Nicholas Cathedral).
Recently the museum has been moved to an administrative building in the city center.
The two floors of the museum house the expositions of the new museum, telling about the ancient and glorious history of the Ochakov land:
— «Ukrainian artist-painter A. Zhdakha»;
— «Echoes of the ancient world»;
— «Ochakov — the wharf of my memory»;

— «Ochakov — citadel of anti-submarine aviation (history of the 555th regiment of naval aviation)»;
— «Immortal feat in the name of the revolution»;
— «Pearls of Ochakov. Fantasies of the sea «.
The exposition of the museum, familiarizes its visitors with the course of the Russian-Turkish wars. It presents weapons, uniforms and armor, flags, documents and maps. The main exhibit is a unique diorama «The storming of Ochakov by Russian troops, December 6, 1788» by the famous artist M. Samsonov. You can also familiarize yourself with the reproduction. In the courtyard of the museum there is a gallery of busts of Russian commanders.
A special feature of this museum has always been a diorama «The storming of the fortress of Ochakov on December 6, 1788», dedicated to the famous battle, which was the beginning of the end of the 300-year possession of Turkey territories in the Black Sea steppes.

All exhibits of the museum are unique: these are orders and medals of the Crimean War of 1853 — 1855, rare books, weapons of the XVIII century, personal belongings of legendary people and unique documents of the Second World War. The museum has a hall of archaeological finds from the island of Berezan.
The history of the museum begins with the opening in 1951 in Ochakov of the museum room of A. V. Suvorov in the premises of the motor-fishing station, which was then transferred to the district library. In 1960 on its basis was created a museum of local lore, located in the religious premises (before 1794. — Turkish mosque, after the destruction of the fortress Ochakov — Military Cathedral, later Orthodox Church, which was closed in 1933, and in this building was located Palace of Pioneers). The museum opened to the public on May 31, 1960 on the basis of the decision of the Ochakov District Executive Committee, and in May 1966 became a branch of the Nikolaev Regional Museum of Local Lore.

Over time, the museum exposition was and July 7, 1972 according to the order of the Nikolaev Regional Council, the museum opened as the Military Historical Department of the Nikolaev Regional Museum of Local Lore.
Professional design and interesting exhibits attracted numerous tourists. During the year the museum received an average of 60 to 80 thousand visitors. In addition, the staff carried out a lot of research and search work. 1335 lectures were delivered, 200 traveling exhibitions were designed, interesting mass events were held. Every year the museum funds were replenished with new additions. The museum collection told both about the distant past Ochakov and its present.

From 2001 to 2010, repair works and improvement of the adjacent territory were carried out here. Funds for this were systematically allocated by the Mykolaiv Regional State Administration.
To date, the renovated building has already created museum exhibitions, which can be viewed by residents and guests of the city.
Visiting this museum, you will discover a lot of new knowledge, become a part of the history of this place, if not actually, then at least virtually.